McInerney returns as champions Galway name team for Sunday’s All-Ireland final

GALWAY HURLING MANAGER Micheal Donoghue has named his starting team to face Limerick in the All-Ireland senior hurling championship final on Sunday.

Gearoid McInerney has recovered from injury to start at centre-half back for the Croke Park showdown (throw-in 3.30pm, live on RTÉ / Sky Sports) as the Tribesmen look to make it back-to-back titles.

His Oranmore-Maree clubmate Niall Burke is the player to make way to facilitate the change while Joseph Cooney has been restored to the half-forward line.

McInerney came off in the 53rd minute of Galway’s first All-Ireland semi-final clash against Clare. He was named to start in the 1-17 to 2-13 replay win but a late pre-match change saw that switched.

Last year, the Tribe lifted the Liam McCarthy Cup for the first time since 1988, and on Sunday they’ll hope to repeat the feat of back-to-back titles last done in 1987 and ’88.

Limerick meanwhile, have also shown their hand.


1. James Skehill (Cappataggle)

2. Adrian Tuohy (Beagh)
3. Daithi Burke (Turloughmore)
4. John Hanbury (Rahoon-Newcastle)

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member

5. Padraig Mannion (Ahascragh/Fohenagh)
6. Gearoid McInerney (Oranmore-Maree)
7. Aidan Harte (Gort)

8. Johnny Coen (Loughrea)
9. David Burke (St Thomas’) — captain

10. Joseph Cooney (Sarsfields)
11. Joe Canning (Portumna)
12. Jonathan Glynn (Ardrahan)

13. Conor Whelan (Kinvara)
14. Conor Cooney (St Thomas)
15. Cathal Mannion (Ahascragh-Fohenagh)

@Galway_GAA senior hurling team named for @officialgaa All Ireland senior hurling final with Limerick! @SupermacsIRE #gaillimhabú

— Tribesmen GAA (@TribesmenGAA) August 17, 2018

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Click Here: Japan Rugby Shop

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *