1-11 from Austin Gleeson can’t prevent Mount Sion’s Waterford SHC exit

REIGNING CHAMPIONS BALLYGUNNER will face Passage East while De La Salle will take on Abbeyside in the Waterford SHC semi-finals after this weekend’s last eight clashes.

Passage had a dominant 5-18 to 0-15 win over Dungarvan in this evening’s quarter-final clash to become the last team to seal a place in the semi-finals.

Goals from Owen Conners (2), Liam Flynn, Richard Hurler and Eoin Kelly helped Passage to the convincing victory.

De La Salle enjoyed a 5-17 to 1-16 win over Mount Sion despite a tally of 1-11 from Austin Gleeson for the losers.

Full Time De La Salle 5-17 Mount Sion 1-16 ten scorers for Salle Austin Gleeson finished with 1-11 for Sion

— Tomás McCarthy (@tomasmcc) August 26, 2018

The 2016 Hurler of the Year scored three sideline cuts for Mount Sion in the first-half, but they went in 1-7 to 0-8 behind after 1-3 from Shane Ryan for De La Salle.

Eddie Meaney, Paidi Nevin, Cormac McCann and Thomas Douglas all hit the net for the victors in the second period, with Gleeson netting a late consolation goal for Mount Sion from a penalty.

County star Pauric Mahony clipped over 0-9 as four-in-a-row champions Ballygunner had three points to spare over Roanmore. The sides were level at 1-6 to 0-9 at half-time after Brian O’Sullivan struck an early goal for Ballygunner.

The favourites went eight points clear in the third quarter but a late Eoin Madigan goal set-up a nervy finish before Ballygunner survived by 1-16 to 1-13.


On Saturday, Abbeyside enjoyed a convincing 2-22 to 0-10 win over Tallow.

The42 is on Instagram! Tap the button below on your phone to follow us!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *