Walsh named in Cork attack while Cody unveils side to begin Allianz League defence

Updated Jan 25th 2019, 9:50 PM

KILKENNY MANAGER BRIAN Cody has named his starting team for Sunday’s Allianz Hurling League opener against Cork at Nowlan Park. 

The defending league champions will be captained by Conor Fogarty in the absence of 2019 skipper TJ Reid.

The Kilkenny forward line will be led by Billy Ryan, Kevin Kelly and Luke Scanlon, with James Maher and Fogarty running the engine room and John Donnelly, Ger Aylward and Ger Malone operating in the half-forward line.

In defence, Paul Murphy, Huw Lawlor and Tommy Walsh will be tasked with keeping Cork at bay, as the Cats begin their campaign for a second consecutive league crown.

Meanwhile, Aidan Walsh has been named alongside Patrick Horgan in Cork’s inside forward line for the meeting with Kilkenny at Nowlan Park.

Luke Meade and Daniel Kearney will take up their posts on the half-forward line to make a formidable Rebel attack.

Cork Senior Hurling Team to play Kilkenny on Sunday in Allianz Hurling League Round 1 pic.twitter.com/1mkLwtZ411

— Cork GAA (@OfficialCorkGAA) January 25, 2019

Source: Cork GAA/Twitter

Damien Cahalane has been selected at full-back with Anthony Nash taking up his usual position between the sticks. Bill Cooper will partner Cormac Murphy in midfield. 

Throw-in is at 2pm. 

Elsehwere, Waterford have also revealed the side that will face Offaly in their Division 1B opener on Sunday at Semple Stadium.

Michael ‘Brick’ Walsh and Tadhg de Burca have been named in a strong back-line which also features Shane Fives.

Kevin Moran has been named to start in midfield while Stephen Bennett will take up his position at full-forward.


1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore)

2. Paul Murphy (Danesfort)
3. Huw Lawlor (O’Loughlin Gaels)
4. Tommy Walsh (Tullaroan)

5. Conor Delaney (Erin’s Own)
6. Paddy Deegan (O’Loughlin Gaels)
7. Enda Morrissey (Bennettsbridge)

8. James Maher (St Lachtains)
9. Conor Fogarty (Erin’s Own)(captain)

10. John Donnelly (Thomastown)
11. Ger Aylward (Glenmore)
12. Ger Malone (Mullinavat)

13. Billy Ryan (Graigue-Ballycallan)
14. Kevin Kelly (St Patricks)
15. Luke Scanlon (James Stephens).


16. Darren Brennan (St Lachtains)
17. Robert Lennon (Bennettsbridge)
18. Conor O’Shea (Clara)
19. Conor Browne (James Stephens)
20. Jason Cleere (Bennettsbridge)
21. Richie Leahy (Rower Inistioge)
22. Liam Blanchfield (Bennettsbridge)
23. Pat Lyng (Rower Inistioge)
24. Conor Martin (Emeralds).

Be part
of the team

Access exclusive podcasts, interviews and analysis with a monthly or annual membership.

Become a Member


1. Anthony Nash (Kanturk)

2. Stephen Mc Donnell (Glen Rovers)
3. Damien Cahalane (St. Finbarrs)
4. Conor O’Sullivan (Sarsfields)

5. Christopher Joyce (Na Piarsaigh)
6. Tim O’ Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
7. Seán O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)

8. Bill Cooper (Youghal) – Captain
9. Cormac Murphy (Mallow)

10. Daniel Kearney (Sarsfields)
11. Declan Dalton (Fr. O Neills)
12. Luke Meade (Newcestown)

13. Jamie Coughlan (Newtownshandrum)
14. Aidan Walsh (Kanturk)
15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)


16. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
17. David Griffin (Carrigaline)
18. David Lowney (Clonakilty)
19. Ger Millerick (Fr. O’ Neills)
20. Conor Cahalane (St. Finbarrs)
21. Tommy O’Connell (Midleton)
22. William Kearney (Sarsfields)
23. Michael O’Halloran (Blackrock)
24. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
25. Alan Cadogan (Douglas)
26. Jack O’Connor (Sarsfields)

Waterford team v Offaly

1. Billy Nolan (Roanmore)

2. Shane Fives (Tourin)
3. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)
4. Noel Connors (Passage) – Capt

5. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside)
6. Tadhg de Burca (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)
7. Michael Walsh (Stradbally)

Click Here: cheap nrl jerseys

8. Kevin Moran (De La Salle)
9. Mikey Kearney (Ballyduff Upper)

10. D.J. Foran (Portlaw)
11. Mark O’Brien (Ferrybank)
12. Shane Bennett (Ballysaggart)

13. Thomas Ryan (Tallow)
14. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)
15. Brian O’Halloran (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)

Just over a week out from the 2019 Six Nations openers, Murray Kinsella and Gavan Casey are joined by Bernard Jackman to look at Ireland’s bid for another Grand Slam:

Source: The42 Rugby Weekly/SoundCloud

Subscribe to our new podcast, The42 Rugby Weekly, here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *